1. Technology
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

How To Delete Temporary Files in Windows Vista

By

Manually cleaning out the Temp folder in Window Vista is often a necessary maintenance step when the Windows Vista Disk Cleanup utility fails to completely clean out the Temp folder.

Removing temporary files is a quick and easy task that can help save disk space and keep your PC clean of file clutter. Just follow the step by step directions below to manually clean out the Temp folder:

Difficulty: Easy
Time Required: Manually cleaning out the Temp folder in Windows Vista usually takes less than 5 minutes

Here's How:

  1. Click on Start, type the following command in the search box, and then hit the Enter key.

    %temp%

    This command will open the folder that Windows Vista has designated as the Temporary folder. These are folders and files that Windows needed at one time but are no longer useful. Everything in this folder is safe to delete.

  2. To remove individual folders or files, hold down your Ctrl key while left-clicking on each item you want delete. Release the Ctrl key when you're finished.

  3. To delete these items, hit your Delete key or click the Organize button on the toolbar menu, followed by the Delete option.

    You will probably be prompted to confirm that you wish to Delete Multiple Items. Click on Yes to confirm.

  4. If you'd instead like to remove everything inside the Temp folder, click on the Organize button and then choose Select All from the menu.

    Note: If you're prompted that there are hidden files in this folder, just click on OK to bypass the message. A few hidden files hanging out in the Temp folder probably aren't important enough to worry about.

  5. Again, to delete these items, hit your Delete key or click the Organize button on the toolbar menu, followed by the Delete option.

    You will probably be prompted again to confirm that you wish to Delete Multiple Items. Click on Yes to confirm.

  6. After all of the files have been deleted you can close the folder window and empty your Recycle Bin, permanently removing the files from your PC.

Tips:

  1. You may receive a Error Deleting File or Folder message while the files are being deleted. This just means that one of the files is in use by a program right now. Click OK, close all open programs, and repeat the steps above. If you still receive the message, try restarting your PC and repeating the process again.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.